Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Harry Lipke

Ac To Dc Converter

15 posts in this topic

This might have fit into another thread but I decided to not "hijack" someones theme...

I bought a small Honda 1000 to power my shop vac (crevice cleaner) .. 

I was going to use it to charge my battery for the Gold Cube pump at the same time.  

I have added a trommel to the GC so I now so I needed a bigger pump.  Twice the energy consumption at 10 amps.

Seems the Honda does not know when to stop charging so you can end up overcharging your battery.

So, I thought, why not drop the battery and put a AC to DC converter to the pump/trommel? 

Anyone done this?

I have used a battery charger to run my desert fox gold recovery wheel and to run my mini sluice for concentration processing , they are made to run for long periods and maintain a set voltage they make a great DC power supply :D !!

I work as a low voltage electrician;  If you go the battery charger route, make sure you get a higher end one.  Some of the cheaper ones have a high voltage/amperage variance, giving the potential to fry more delicate motors.  Some generators also have a high variance in voltage/amperage depending on the working conditions and load.  The Hondas generally do okay if you have a steady electrical load, but if your equipment has a lot of variance in amperage consumption that can create further stress on your battery charger and whatever it is powering/charging.  Electricity can do interesting things if you don't have the proper equipment to regulate it.