Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Geowizard

Canals

31 posts in this topic

Great topic.   Around here the ditch companies made a much better profit than the miners ever did, there are over 100 miles of ditches in the Boise Basin District.

Ditches don't always parellel the creek, there was a hydraulic operation in Idaho City, that used water from two creeks.

The old timers didn't start digging ditches just because pumps were expensive, they dug ditches because they did not have portable pumps, like we have today, even a small pump back then was made out of so much iron that you would not want to keep moving it.

Ronald C and Laurence D like this

Thank you Geowizard.

I know that I was nitpicking, but my interest have been in gold and some silver mining for 35 years, which means I am now an expert liar, because Mark Twain has described a mine as "a hole in the ground owned
by a liar.

That is one way of "experimenting" lifting water, to a "ditch".       the success of their experiment is only claimed by the pumping station, I would expect their results to be favorable, on their behalf.

That certainly is a rare method for hydraulic mining, of that time period, not very practical.

F.Y.I. Canals and ditches are not the same thing.

I do see that it may not be the pumping plant that made the claim, but then, who did?

The history of the west has shown that someone making outlandish claims of success about a mine, town or district etc. was not only tolerated but accepted as fact.

Newspapers were the worst at embellishing claims of any kind, just as long as it benefitted them, and they exploit the  news in order to attract customers, and to get more customers they always have good things to say about any mine, town or district, but just about where they happen to live.