Sign in to follow this  
Mark Tillman

Trying To Learn The Basics Of Metal Detecting While Also Looking For A New Area To Prospect...a Good Idea?

I'm new to metal detecting for gold and probably have somewhere between 20-22 hours use time on my GPX-4500 detector. I'm not surprised that I haven't had any luck yet finding any gold as I've some ways to go before mastering my detector. One concern I do have is that I might be looking in an area devoid of gold nuggets of sufficient size to register on my detector. The area that I've been working had probably half a dozen small gold mines and prospects that were active in the years prior to WW2. My search of old mining records has not produced any production numbers for any of these mines and it seems likely that the total yield in gold from most of the mines was probably pretty small (maybe dozens of ounces). I am encouraged by the fact that three of these old mines had  arrastras in place so I know that what gold ore was mined was at least free milling and not all tied up with sulfides. Obviously, I haven't talked to other detectorist about this specific area  so I can't judge what more experienced operators are finding. Actually, from what I can tell, the area doesn't appear to be that well visited as of yet and I was contemplating the idea of filing a mining claim at some future time if things worked out. Based on this scant background info, would some of you more experienced operators spent much time on an area like this or would my time be better spent swinging my search coil over a proven nugget producing area? Thanks.