Lance R

Prospecting Partner Needed

I can do this full time as I am retired and am looking for others in the same catagory. My problem is I need a partner or partners who can spend the time in the field necessary to find gold. I've been prospecting for 3+ years and have most all equipment needed for prospecting. I have a 4x4 truck and cabover camper. My setup is 100% self contained including solar powered sluice box. I'm in the Santa Cruz, California area. I usually head to the desert in the winter months and Sierras in the rest of the time. I'd prefer someone with more experience than I have in need of a honest hardworking associate. dane at cruzio dot com.

Lance,

Welcome to the forum! :)

Prospecting is a fun way to spend retirement. Having spent many years prospecting and holding down a regular job, I can now identify with you on the freedom of retirement. Vetting a potential partner is serious business as you probably already understand.

For some reason and it's probably just my luck, but most of the partners I have had knew more about mining than I did. If we took my rig, and they wanted to take a left turn and I went right, they curled up in the fetal position and stated sucking their thumb. If we took their rig, we took the trail they wanted to and didn't return home until they were ready to call it a day. My wife has been by best prospecting partner. She's along for the ride and taken a lot of bouncing around on old dusty roads.

Good luck!

- Geowizard

Maybe consider joining a few of the mining clubs in your area - even the goldhounds in Auburn (which is  a ways, but not too long). Lots of time you can meet in clubs folks of a like mind and you can get a chance to spend a little time with them (and they with you) at a club get together before you go out in the field.

The ICMJ has a list of clubs for California here on our website, so take a look at it.