Sign in to follow this  
eric_mecum

Need Help With Texas Fine Flake

I live in Texas and the gold I am finding is very small flat flake pieces even powder. I am new to prospecting but it seems impossible to pan, it runs right out of the pan. I bought a blue bowl but even at super low speeds I watch the gold leave. I have built 2 water tables now, if the gold has some shape to it, it will stick to the table, however, most is very flat and just washes away. BTW I screen everything and run everything at desperate times. Screens are 30,50,100. I don't find many pickers, but I would like to capture all the gold I find. I am having a lot of fun but getting discouraged now because nothing seems to work. Hope someone can help

Are you sure it's not "fools gold"?

Even fines should stay in the pan.

And, the Blue Bowl works ok on fines as long as it is classified and you don't "blow" it out with too much water.

I would question if it is really gold or "new to prospecting" methods...

Do you know anyone that can confirm it is gold?

One of my gold equipment purchase's was a Angus MacKirk Lab & Field Orfino shaker table, I must say I am pretty impressed with how well it work's. Recover's fine gold beyond 200 to 300 mesh. And it didn't break the bank.

Eric ,just out of curiosity. I too am from Texas,I am not a miner/prospector but have a profound interest in what other's are doing in this endeavor. What area in Texas are you mining or retrieving this gold from if you don't mind saying.

dick

Its hard stuff to recover, so don't feel too badly.

The blue bowl will recover it if run properly and all the material screened to minus 50, then run with slow water.

Miller tables will work, but again you need to screen to a very small size like 50 mesh and then run the water real slow.

Shaker tables work, but even they take much work to set up and you need to pre-screen the material.