Sign in to follow this  
Peter Freedman

Large Gold Sand Deposit That Pays $8 A Yard - Worth Presuing?

I have been prospecting a deposit that is a fossilized sand placer containing gold. I dug a couple of trenches and have run several yards - The material comes out to about $8 a yard from a sluice. Historical records suggest $17 yards.  Is this something worth considering to mine?

It really is based on what it costs you to mine it. If you are in a high expense area with few resources and difficult conditions, it may cost more than $8 a yard to mine and process.

I would say its worth investigating further. I guess at this point, you need to work on figuring how much it will cost you to mine and process it.

Chris, 

Thanks for your reply. I am just an amateur prospector learning the ropes. Been looking for good ground in the lower 48 for the last 7 years. But it seems that sand deposits of lower grade could be economic because of the ease of access and quantity of material.  

The problems you will run into, in no particular order, are:

The gold will be real small. The larger gold and consequently heavier dropped out amongst the pebbles and cobbles upstream.

By small I mean mostly -100 mesh and down.

This presents a bit of a task to accomplish a high percentage of recovery.

Then there is the shear volume of material that must be run through the sluice.

All of the material must be slowly fed into it or you will plug the bedding resulting in more recovery loss.

Rather than being able to classify out the obviously not-gold, you will have to sluice it all.

Then there will be all the tailings that come with the garbage in, garbage out process.

The above demands will require lots of water and a monster width sluice to process.

Can it be done? Sure.

Economically? Maybe.

If you look at the Keene Beach Box, you can see that it is a lot wider than their other models.