Sign in to follow this  
RotGrub

Rotgrub Moving South Part 1 & 2

Trying to keep this forum alive...

We've been prospecting a good AMRA claim in CA and the two videos below show our activities in search of the old creek bed. I'm no expert but give my theories as to past activities and where the old creek bed might be located. Any advice is appreciated...

part 2

Wow. That's a whole lot of work. Even within the gravel layers when you get close to bedrock there will be paystreaks and areas where there is only a little flood gold.

When doing this sort of work, the old timers would put down a series of test holes to bedrock to look for a paystreak, then follow the streak up and down river. The diagram I've attached shows Nos. 1-4 across the width of the creek bed, then Nos. 6-8 following along the pay streak where they would mine it underground.

There are safety issues as well. You get too deep and a hole like that can collapse. The old timers shored up deep diggings like that with timber.

I am also guessing the Forest Service was unhappy. That is the kind of digging with hand tools that some F.S. staff might call a significant disturbance. I'm interested to see what happens.

I wish you were getting more gold - its hard to stay enthusiastic when working that hard and getting only a few colors. If it were me, I'd be moving on looking for a better spot.

post-2-0-08331400-1439225719_thumb.jpg